The Joy of Making Stuff

13 Jan

Last night I made this:

I know it’s but a humble cushion cover, but it’s the first thing I’ve sewn with a sewing machine since Home Economics 21 years ago. To say I’m proud of myself would be an understatement! I’m so proud of myself – I turned a simple piece of fabric into a gorgeous cushion cover. I made it. And this morning my son was lounging on it. Which makes me even prouder!

Anyway, I made this during a class called Learn to Sew: Cushion Cover+Floral Corsage at the fabulous Make Lounge. I’ve been wanting to brush up on my machine sewing skills for quite a while so I treated myself to the class as my Christmas present to myself.

And I am so glad I did. We had a wonderful teacher who guided a roomful of absolute sewing novices through the basics until we had all made our lovely cushion covers. I must say, the hardest part of the class was choosing the fabric from the wonderful selection on offer! In the end I chose a cute print by Eleanor Grosch.

Now I just need to choose my next sewing project. It’s going to need to be simple but I’d like it to be practical too. Maybe a tote bag…or bunting…or an apron for my son to go with the wooden play kitchen Santa brought him…

 

2 Responses to “The Joy of Making Stuff”

  1. Rach January 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    Love it! I have lovely Brighton print fabric lolling in the cupboard since the summer waiting for some cushion cover making action. Myself and Ian did make some fusion covers BC (before child) and it is so easy so why why why can’t I get around to it?

Leave a comment