Blogging Resolutions for 2012

17 Jan

I’ve been blogging for just about 2 months. I started because I wanted a space for myself, a space where I could expand our experience of trying to live a greener family life. I didn’t think much before starting to blog, I just dived in!

I’ve really enjoyed my start in blogging though. Although I don’t think of myself as a blogger yet, if you know what I mean. This is still such a new hobby for me and there are so many fabulous bloggers out there that I think I’m still a little shy of calling myself that. But I spotted the Mumnset blogging resolutions blog hop and it got me thinking about making resolutions as a blogger. I really enjoy blogging, and I want to grow and develop as a blogger, so I thought it would be interesting to make some resolutions public on here. That way I can look back in a year’s time and see how things look. To be honest, this year is going to be so busy (with a second baby arriving and a planned move from London to the US), that I think making these resolutions on here is about the only way I’ll stick to them!

Here are my blogging resolutions for 2012:

1. I will commit to blogging at least twice a week: I’d love to blog more, but I want to maintain a blog/family life balance. I currently do a fair bit of blog reading, and even writing, at work (shh! don’t tell my boss!) but I’m off on maternity leave in early March so I’ll have to fit everything in around a newborn and a toddler. I want to maintain a level of writing and engagement that keeps it interesting for me (and for anyone reading!) but I also want to enjoy and cherish this time with my children and husband.

2. Twitter: I will aim to tweet more regularly. I like reading Twitter – so many interesting and witty people and organisations! – but I haven’t been as good at joining in as I could be. This WILL change in 2012, especially as it fills the gaps between blog posts so nicely. If anyone wants to follow me (and I’ll follow you back!) I’m @lowimpactmama (there’s also a handy Twitter button on my sidebar).

3.  I will embrace my Facebook page: I’ve used Facebook in a personal capacity for years but I’ve found the switch to setting up a page for this blog harder than I expected. So my aim for 2012 is to start to enjoy my Facebook page and for it to grow into a “behind-the-scenes” of this blog. So please do like Low Impact Parenting on Facebook (there’s also a button on my sidebar) – I’d love to “see” you on Facebook!

4. I will continue to read a diverse range of other blogs as often as possible: I love all the different voices and styles I encounter on the web. It inspires me to keep blogging!

5. I will support new bloggers and blogs as much as possible: I’ve found fellow bloggers to be very supportive and helpful to me as I start out as a blogger. I’d like to make sure I share that love with other newbies (as well as established bloggers I like and admire) so I’m going to aim to do regular shout-outs on this blog and continue to find and read new blogs.

That’s it. I’ll stop at 5 resolutions. I could go on and on (eg get my visitor stats up; think about self-hosting; think about reviewing products or services that match my ethical beliefs) but I’m dooming myself to failure if I take that route. I’m hoping I can stick to these 5 resolutions. It’s going to be interesting to look back at this post in a year’s time and see what I achieved…

So this is my first blog hop. Unfortunately, I can’t link to it properly (damn you wordpress.com!) but do check out the Mumsnet blogging resolutions blog hop for the other blogs taking part.

2 Responses to “Blogging Resolutions for 2012”

  1. yummymummyreally January 18, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Great resolutions. Can I embrace them too? I struggle with getting those fb/twitter buttons on my sidebar, but am working on it. 🙂

    • lowimpactmama January 18, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      I know you’ve made public resolutons too – bit scary but hopefully by publishing them we’ll stick to them! I also find the Mumsnet Bloggers Network forum such a good space to be inspired to try a bit hard with FB & Twitter…

Leave a Reply

