Making hummus like a pro

8 Feb

We’ve spent the day waiting for the great blizzard to strike (it’s being called Nemo by some, since even winter storms are branded now). In fact, a snow plow just drove by (the fire house is at the end of our street so it’s pretty well plowed during storms!). On our back porch our home made ruler measures just over 3 inches of snow. I wonder what it will say tomorrow, after the blizzard has blown through.

During the afternoon I heard part of the excellent Last Chance Foods segment on WNYC – I love this show. It covers such an interesting selection of food topics and is often a pleasure to listen to.  If you want to listen you can check out today’s show on how to make hummus like a pro.

Hummus is something that’s often homemade in our house. I’d take the credit, but my husband usually does it. In fact, he usually does much of our cooking (his kitchen skills are some of the many things I love about him!). He had cooked up some chickpeas in the pressure cooker over lunch, in anticipation of making the latest batch of hummus. So of course we were both interested to hear what the secret to making professional tasting hummus was…it turns out it’s about peeling the chickpeas. Which was not something we’d ever thought of before!

Once the kids were in bed we set about the task. It was quite relaxing, mediatative almost. We listened to the newest Friday Night Comedy podcast from the BBC (the News Quiz was even funnier than usual!) as we stood together at the sink popping the chickpeas out of their translucent skins.

Chickpea skins

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then my husband set to work, whizzing it up in the food processor with some lemon juice, some crushed garlic, some tahini, some of the water the chickpeas cooked in, some olive oil and some maldon sea salt.  If you’re interested you can check out a recipe he likes on the blog Table & Spoon, where it’s all explained and photographed far more expertly than I could attempt on here!

The result:

Hummus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A creamy, fluffy, scrumptious hummus. Totally more-ish and delicious and actually nicer than any store bought one I’ve tried in a long time. So it seems the trick really is in the peeling of the chickpeas!

And now the snow has started falling again and it’s time for me to head to bed. I wonder how I’ll sleep during my first ever blizzard…

 

4 Responses to “Making hummus like a pro”

  1. Vinny Grette February 8, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Yum! I have another hummus recipe which I’ll be posting over the next month (I only put up one a week and needed to get ahead so I could go on holiday! ) 🙂

    • lowimpactmama February 9, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Your recipes look delicious! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. smallftprints February 9, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Who knew … it never occurred to me to peel chickpeas. Thanks for the tip … we’re going to try it out! 🙂 Oh, by the way … my hubz is also the main “chef” in our house … he cooks up some fabulous dishes. Aren’t we lucky to have kitchen-savvy guys!

    • lowimpactmama February 9, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      We’re very lucky! I know what you mean about the chickpeas…I honestly never thought about them as having skins (though I guess they’re like peas – not that I’d shell peas though!). Let me know if you try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

