Easy green cleaning

5 Feb

Our cleaning products can be full of nasties and can pose a real risk of poisoning if children or pets get into them. It’s no surprise so many households are packed full of harsh chemicals, after decades of “Better Living Through Chemistry”  and advertising telling us we need to have homes that are cleaner than clean or whites that are whiter than white or floors cleaned with antibacterial wipes.  Luckily it’s a very easy step to take to green your cleaning products. What’s even better is that by making your own cleaning products you’ll save a ton of money too.

Making more of my own green cleaning products is one of my eco aims for 2013 so I thought I’d share 3 easy green cleaning solutions that will make your home a cleaner, greener space.

All purpose cleaner:

1 cup water
1 cup distilled white vinegar
2 tbsp of lemon juice
10 drops tea tree oil

Tea tree is a wonderful essential oil with natural antic bacterial and anti fungal properties, so this cleaner is great for everyday use on most surfaces. NB leave out the lemon juice if you have granite counter tops as it can stain them!

Window & Glass cleaner:

Just mix equal parts distilled white vinegar and water in a spray bottle and you’re good to go. Just spray on any glass surfaces and wipe (we use old newspapers for the wiping).

Microwave cleaner:

This is an old trick but works so brilliantly. Put a bowl of warm tap water in the microwave with some lemon slices and cook on high for 1 minute. Then let it sit in the microwave for a few minutes, so the steam stays trapped inside. Then just wipe out the microwave with a damp sponge – easy peasy!

I use spray bottles that I’ve saved from the commercial eco cleaners I was using before switching to homemade. You can also pick up empty spray bottles in places like a dollar store (or pound shop!). I’d love to hear if anyone else has homemade green tips to share, as I’ve become a bit of a white vinegar bore in real life since it’s such a great (and cheap!) alternative to expensive eco cleaners!

 

8 Responses to “Easy green cleaning”

  1. smallftprints February 6, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Fabulous tips (and recipes). I used to use all those chemicals to clean house. I also got regular headaches. I thought they were just allergies kicking up until I switched to vinegar and baking soda as my primary cleaning solutions. The headaches went away. It really makes one wonder what those chemicals are doing to us.
    Here are a few more tips:
    Use a solution of olive oil and lemon juice to polish furniture.
    Soak sponges in straight vinegar, overnight, to kill bacteria.
    Clean water bottles by swishing vinegar and baking soda in them … then rinse thoroughly.
    Soak a small piece of cloth with your favorite essential oil & vacuum it up into the bag … as you vacuum it’ll give your home a nice smell (versus using chemical laden home fragrance gadgets).
    Thanks for sharing your tips! 🙂

    • lowimpactmama February 6, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      Wow! great tips! Thanks for sharing! Wonderful to hear that your headaches disappeared (though it does make me wonder how all these chemicals affect us?)

      • Krisha February 6, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

        Hi there! just stumbled onto your blog through CTWW -Tnx for the all purpose cleaner tip! I just ran out of cleaner so I will make some to try out ASAP. Come over to see me @ http://recyclingmama.squarespace.com if you find the time between, baby, toddler, blogging and life in general. I blog about meat free mondays, DIY, crafting with an aim to gradually live greener.

      • lowimpactmama February 6, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        Thanks for stopping by! Your blog looks so interesting (and beautiful!)! Hope you enjoy making your own cleaner – it’s addictive 🙂

  2. Maria Smith February 7, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

    I will have to try that on my microwave! It sound so easy. I usually have a good green
    cleaning
    service take care of things, but I’m on my own for a bit, so I really appreciate tips.

    • lowimpactmama February 8, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      A green cleaning service is a great idea, as time is the biggest hurdle with cleaning! The microwave tip is super easy.

  3. kmcgiveron March 1, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Reblogged this on Going Sustainable and commented:
    Here are some suggestions for home made cleaning solutio s. This is something we all can easily do to prevent more chemicals going out to our oceans.

  4. Domestic Cleaners London March 20, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    I am a huge fan of the recipe for the universal surface sanitizer, as I like to call it. I am looking to pass my massage to more and more people around the web. My appeal is: live greener, think greener, reuse and recycle. Think about the nature and the heritage we pass to the future generations. They deserve a green-world, not a junkyard. I am glad that at LowImpactParanting you appeal for the same. Keep up the good work!

    Thank you,
    Cheryl – a home cleaner in London

Leave a Reply

