Happy Leap Day!

29 Feb

Leaping Lizards, it’s Leap Day!

I love the Leap Day. I love the extra day-ness of it. I had a neighbour growing up who was born on a Leap Day and I found it incredible that he was older than me but technically younger in age years…

I have a friend from university who proposed to her husband on this day 8 years ago. It makes me smile to remember how happy they both were when she did.

I’ve been so busy these last weeks that I appreciate the extra day more than ever. I worked late tonight as this Friday is my last day in the office before maternity leave starts (and I don’t work on Thursdays) so this was my last chance to just get my head down and wrap up as much as I can. And I finally feel like I’m ready to go on maternity leave. Well, as ready as I’ll ever be (ie I’ve accepted that some things can’t get finished in time and that’s Not The End Of The World – instead they’ll become Someone Else’s Problem).

I’ve been so busy that I’ve not even had time for the internet. So my poor blog has been neglected somewhat (blows away any lingering tumbleweed) let alone with properly keeping up with my favourite bloggers or Twitter. But I’ve been preoccupied with finishing work, with turning a breech baby (which I’ll blog about properly some other time) and seeing as many friends as I can before baby number 2 arrives and makes traipsing around London a little trickier.

But thanks to this extra day I feel like I’ve turned a corner. I’m ready to leave work behind and focus properly on looking forward to meeting the newest member of the family. That’s my great mental leap today.

2 Responses to “Happy Leap Day!”

  1. Singlemarriedmum March 1, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re feeling sorted! Always good to tie up loose ends, especially now. This is such an exciting time for you x

  2. Ruth March 3, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Yes I remember that feeling when going on maternity leave. But you’re right that it becomes someone else’s problem, and there’s nothing you can do about that. Enjoy your leave 🙂 Well done for turning a breech baby – I’d love to hear about that one day when you blog about it. Happy Leap Day too (a bit late….. I’ve also been busy this week to keep up with blogs!)

Leave a Reply

