Liebster love

11 Feb

The lovely Tracey over at Single Married Mum has very kindly sent me a Liebster Blog award. I was absolutely delighted to find out yesterday, as it brightened up my week no end (it’s far more fun than the poorly, vomiting toddler I’ve spent my week with!). I’m honoured that she thought of me, as I’ve not been blogging long and it’s great to get some virtual blogging love.

Tracey is a very talented writer and she blogs about life as a parent when her husband is overseas with the armed forces. Join her at Single Married Mum while she counts down the days until they’re reunited and you’ll enjoy her funny, witty and touching insights into life (though you may be jealous of her ever increasing number of crochet granny squares – though that could just be me and my guilt at the unfinished granny squares blanket I’ve now been storing for, oh, 12 years…).

Now, according to the rules of the award I’ve got to nominate five other blogs I love that have 200 followers or less. I’ve got no idea how many followers the blogs I’m going to nominate have, but they’re such lovely bloggers that I don’t really mind if I bend the rules slightly!

So here goes:

For parenting with a Montessori twist, check out Rachel over at Sparkling Bay. She writes beautifully about raising her young daughter and her posts often leave me with a smile on my face, as she reminds me of the value of enjoying the small moments in life. Her weekly “Living, Learning” posts about how our children learn through life are particular highlights.

For funny (and useful!) posts on life as a working mother check out the wonderful Yummy Mummy, really?. She writes brilliantly about the realities of juggling a family and work while also maintaining a sense of self. Her posts really brighten up my day (especially as I usually read them at work!).

Ruth over at Mixed Bag of All Sorts also writes a lovely blog about her life raising her young son while also being a wife, a linguist, a food lover and, most importantly, herself. Warning: her recipes will leave you with cravings for delicious food! Not that that’s a bad thing…I just wish I had the time to try them all!

For a French slant on raising a family in Britain check out the excellent A Frog at Large. I love reading her thoughtful posts on raising her baby daughter. She has a refreshingly practical approach to parenting that I really enjoy. Plus she’s currently on the baby led weaning adventure with her daughter and I’m jealous of the foodie fun they’re having!

Finally, for another “foreign” view on Britain, check out the lovely Living Life as an Expat Parent written by an American woman married to a British man. I particularly enjoy this blog as my husband’s American, so her American view on Britain resonates with me. Her writing is very funny but remains thoughtful and insightful too.

I really hope you go and check out these wonderful blogs – may the blogging love go forth and prosper!

6 Responses to “Liebster love”

  1. Yummymummyreally February 12, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Congratulations on the Liebster! And thank you so much! My first award! (blushes coyly) I am glad you enjoy the blog. I will find it difficult to select 5 of my favourite blogs to pass on the blogging love to, but I will enjoy deciding!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lowimpactmama February 12, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Can’t wait to see who you choose! Love stumbling across new blogs (note to self: get into Stumbleupon!)

      • yummymummyreally February 18, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

        Finally decided! Tricky isn’t it! Check it out at yummymummyreally.blogpost.com today. (stumbleupon is really good!)

  2. Living Life as an Expat Parent February 12, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    You are really kind. I have felt really encouraged this week, thank you! Will have to have a think for my Leibster post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lowimpactmama February 12, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      Glad you’re encouraged! This came at the end of a rubbish week for me and I was v happy to get it!

  3. Living Life as an Expat Parent February 27, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Still thinking. Haha. I think I’m up to three, but wanted to say I haven’t forgotten your nomination. Hopefully, I can post something this week.

Leave a Reply

