Taking the time to count my blessings

6 Feb

Things have felt quite hectic recently. As my pregnancy progesses, the to-do list before the baby gets here seems to be getting longer and longer. I’m starting to look around our flat and just see things to decluttter and organise to make some much needed space for this little one.

I’m washing and sorting bedding and 0-3 month clothes (they are so tiny! I have such fond memories of my son in them! But where the devil will we store them?!). As part of decluttering, we’re freecylcing and ebaying anything that can’t be passed onto friends and family.

Luckily, we’re remembering to practice our hypnobirthing so do relax a little (even if we sometimes seem to tired or stressed to actually practice in the first place!).

I have now got less than 4 weeks to go at work before maternity leave and still have a lot of projects to wrap up. I know that things will get done in my absence but I want to leave things shipshape for the colleague covering for me.

So many things to do, so little time…

We’re also planning to move to the States in September (though no dates are confirmed yet) so that looms on our horizon too. I worry about my greencard and sorting the children’s medical records creep. I worry about whether this is the right thing for our family – are we mad to tear up our roots in London in order to make new ones? How will I handle leaving Britain, with its beloved NHS and a job I love? How will I feel being so much further from my family in Ireland?

But today I read this post over at Salt & Caramel and it made me stop and think: wait a second, my problems aren’t problems at all.

I am in fact incredibly lucky. A husband I adore who adores me back. A son who we both adore, and who continues to delight us every day, with another baby due soon. We have each other and we have our health. These things are priceless, so it doesn’t really matter what we do or where we do it.

Our “problems” seem so trivial in comparison to other people’s. Other people like Aillidh Kinnaird.

Aillidh is 8 years old and seriously ill. Very seriously ill. She has Acute Myeloid Leukaemia and is going through yet another round of chemotherapy. She desperately needs a bone marrow transplant.

Her parents are doing everything they can to find a donor for her – see their Facebook page for more information. She has a mixed heritage (white Scottish & mestizo), which makes it hard to find a match for her.

Unfortunately no one in her family matches. So the net needs to be spread as far as widely throughout the world to try and get her the life saving treatment she needs.

This is where we come in. We can help Aillidh and others like her.

If you’re not already registered, please sign up for bone marrow register where you live (see Anthony Nolan in the UK or Be The Match in the US or the Bone Marrow Registry in Ireland). The more people sign up the better the chance for Aillidh and people like her. I signed up with the Anthony Nolan trust several years ago and it’s an easy process.

If you’re on Facebook, then please Like Aillidh’s page and share it with your friends. If you’re on Twitter, spread the word by tweeting about this. Email your friends and family and ask them to sign up and to spread the message in turn.

The more potential donors sign up then the higher the chance of helping Aillidh or another Leukaemia sufferer.

This is a blog hop – check out Salt & Caramelfor the code and link up.

Take this chance to help save a life. Take the time to count your blessings.

5 Responses to “Taking the time to count my blessings”

  1. MmeLindor February 6, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Thanks for posting and linking to my blog and Aillidh’s facebook page.

    Seems that I am not alone, in the packing up to move and in the counting of blessings.

    • lowimpactmama February 6, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      I have been very interested in your moving prep, as it’s all ahead for us! Thanks again for blogging about Aillidh – it really puts things in perspective.

  2. Eilidh Macleod February 6, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Great post

    • lowimpactmama February 6, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      I hope it helps even one person register. I really hope Aillidh finds a donor soon.

  3. mum of all trades February 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I read that post too, so very sad.

Leave a Reply

