Putting the “Eco” in “Economical”

21 Jan
We’re living in tough economic times. It’s stressful, managing a household when your income may be dropping or your job precarious. And then you find out you’re having a baby (or another baby) and your financial woes take on a whole new level – how will you afford all the stuff that comes with a baby? And how will you afford maternity leave? Let alone all the expense that goes into raising a child (according to some sources, it costs over two hundred thousand pounds to raise a child to adulthood in the UK today.)
But having a baby doesn’t have to break the bank. With a bit of time and creativity, you can take a frugal (but fun!) approach to having a baby. And by embracing your inner cheapskate you can reward yourself with green brownie points at the same time. It’s about putting the “Eco” in “Economical”.
Cutting back on consumption (reducing) and embracing second-hand or hand-me-downs (reusing) are two of the fundamental tenets of taking a frugal, green approach to raising a baby. And because it’s more economical, it means that when you do have to buy new you can afford to buy quality products that last. So you can either reuse them on a subsequent child or sell them on when you no longer need them.
So I’m going to start a series of easy tips on how to have a green baby just by being frugal. With baby no 2 on the way, it’ll allow me to refresh all the things we learnt with baby no 1. And I’d love to hear any frugal tips you have – what baby stuff did you love? Or hate? What’s your top green tip for parents or parents-to-be?

 

4 Responses to “Putting the “Eco” in “Economical””

  1. Being Mum and Dad January 21, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    We would love to have another child but its the nursery fees that are the stinger – can’t afford not to work as we are already embracing hand me downs etc. Oh well, at lease our dd is wonderful and I guess we are contributing to population control.

    • lowimpactmama January 21, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      I totally agree that childcare costs are dreadful. I’m not even on maternity leave for no 2 yet and I’m dreading the eventual return to work and the cost of having two in childcare! We used a nursery at first, which closed down, and we switched to a childminder as the other nurseries in the local area of North London were so expensive that 4 days a week for 1 child worked out at scarily close to my take home pay…

  2. Rach January 24, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    Well, reusable wipes are probably my biggest tip. I just used jeyes cloths!

    • lowimpactmama January 24, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      I’m a fan of the reusable wipes too though terry cloth for me (soaked in lovely essential oils – they’re just lovely!). Someone gave us some cheeky wipes, which I adore but was too cheap to buy more and just made my own when I needed a top up!

Leave a Reply

