Welcoming in 2012

3 Jan
I’m back in London again after a lovely 12 day visit to Ireland for Christmas and New Year. I had a total break from blogging, tweeting and emailing while away – I even let my work blackberry run out of juice so was properly unplugged from work too – and am feeling very refreshed for it. I hadn’t consciously decided to unplug but as the days passed I found I was enjoying the freedom enough to actively maintain it until last night. It may become an annual Christmas tradition for me… 
I must admit I like the New Year freshness that January offers. I like the downtime after the all the hectic enjoyment of the festive period. I like remembering to write the date properly – it reminds me of being a child, when I marvelled at how I could go to bed and wake up to a new year. I like thinking back to the highlights, and lowlights, of the previous year and I like wondering about what the coming year holds. Most of all, I like feeling the days lengthen as sunlight gradually returns. It reminds me that this time of year is a time of renewal, with spring just around the corner. 
 
2011 was an interesting and mostly wonderful year for us. We saw in 2011 in Savannah, celebrating my grandmother in law’s 95th birthday with the extended clan. It was the culmination of a 3 week visit that inspired us to serisouly think about moving to live in the US at some point.  Our son started taking his first steps in February and we celebrated his first birthday in March. I returned to work in early April, and was relieved to find I enjoyed it (I had forgotten how much I liked my job while on maternity leave!). Over the summer we were thrilled to discover I was pregnant again (a natural conception, which is truly miraculous for us as we had to have IVF to concieve our son).
 
So 2012 will see the birth of our second child and will also see us move to the US. We’ve decided that, much as we love London, we’d like to settle down somewhere and moving to the States means we’d at least be close to some of our family. 2012 will be an exciting and interesting year for us!
 
I hope you also have a joyful and peaceful New Year.
2 Responses to “Welcoming in 2012”

  1. Rach January 4, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Oh my god, what huge news!! Congratulations. Are you going to move to Georgia? Wow! Why there rather than Ireland? Or need I ask…?!

    • lowimpactmama January 4, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Well, after a great trip to Cork over Christmas/New Year Ireland is tempting! But unfortunately not realistic (damn economy!) so we’ll be off to the NYC/northern NJ area as my husband’s company will relocate him. And his parents live in southern NJ, along with some friends and family in the NYC area, so it will make us a lot closer to family. Pretty daunting though!

Leave a Reply

