Muddy boots and signs of spring

2 Mar

Things have been a little busy in real life so I hope to catch up on my blogging soon. Thankfully, we had some nice moments this week to slow down and cut through the mania with some mud and signs of spring.

We’re lucky that our local park has some great puddles to splash about in at the moment:

Boots in puddle

Nothings beats a bit of a splash about. I think my daughter will be glad to get walking so she can join in the fun instead of watching from the sling! Happy wellies are muddy wellies:

Muddy boots

We were on the hunt for signs of spring so were delighted to find some snow drops:

Snowdrops

These delicate little beauties are truly one of my favourite flowers. It always gives me a little thrill to see their graceful heads nodding, reminding me that the days are lengthening and nature is springing back to life.

We also found a lovely bank of crocuses. Another subtle sign that the seasons are turning.

Crocuses

Today we headed off to the Maple Sugar Festival at the Great Swamp Outdoor Education Center in Chatham, NJ. It was a tremendous amount of fun. My associations with maple syrup were all with Vermont and the like (basically places I’ve never been!) so it was wonderful to realise that our New Jersey patch also has a fine tradition of maple syrup (I guess I now understand why our town is called Maplewood!).  There were some great nature tables for my son to explore as well as crafts. Here he is sporting the rather dashing mask he made: Mask

We also saw a plant new to me:

Skunk cabbage

I thought it was beautiful, with its scarlet fronds creeping through the swampy leaf litter. My husband recognised it immediately, the striking (but stinky) skunk cabbage. It’s a good reminder that beauty comes in all shapes (and smells!).

3 Responses to “Muddy boots and signs of spring”

  1. rosy mammy March 3, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    oh i just love snowdrops too – yay for spring!

  2. Madeleine March 5, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    We’re still waiting for all the snow to melt here but I did spot some bulbs shooting up outside the school this afternoon. I am also very excited to go to a maple syrup education centre in March here near Toronto – having grown up in Ireland, it was all new to me last year and I was more excited than the daycare kids I was accompanying, I think!

    • lowimpactmama March 8, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      We’ve snow here this morning too! Though the weekend forecast looks lovely so I think this may the be the last of the snow for a while!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

