Dreaming of a Green Christmas

24 Dec

Vintage holly wreath

Bringing greenery into our home is one of my favourite aspects of Christmas. Our picture frames are decorated with sprigs of holly and small fir branches. There’s our Christmas tree, of course. And our gingerbread house has a pine cone garden. I even made a wreath for our front door. All we’re missing is a sprig of mistletoe! It brings back memories of helping my mum decorate in this way. I used to love the way she’d work her magic on the wreath. My own wreath is a much humbler affair!

Decorating with plants like holly (or ivy) and evergreen branches are also a great way to stay green (and save money!) too. Myself and my 2 year old collected the holly and pine cones from our local park. The holly sprigs were all just lying on the ground under the holly bushes. The fir branches for the wreath and decorations came from leftovers from where we bought our Christmas tree. We bought our Christmas tree from the local Rotary Club, who were selling locally grown trees in aid of local charities. The greenery, combined with the paper chains I made with the kids, makes me feel glad that we’ve decorated our new home in a seasonal and sustainable way.

Other little eco steps we’ve made this year are things like making some of our own wrapping paper (mostly involving upcycling the brown paper that arrived with some of our present purchases) and buying from local businesses where possible. We’ve tried to not go mad on the gift giving front and only buy (or make) gifts that are wanted and will be used.

My 2 year old is actually excited about Santa this year. It’s still mostly over his head, but his “ho ho ho” and love of helping me to wrap (and make the paper using his excellent Melissa & Doug stamp set!) have added an extra dimension of fun to the proceedings. My baby girl is 9 months old tomorrow and I’m looking forward to dressing her as an elf and capturing it for posterity – nothing like dressing your babies up in ridiculous outfits to add joy to festivities!

All in all, I’m excited about our first Christmas living in Maplewood. I feel this is the start of our family Christmas traditions, as myself and my husband take the best of what we grew up with, and things we’ve learned together, and weave together the memories our children will cherish. I love this time of year!

So I wish everyone reading a joyful, peaceful and green Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

