Why do I blog?

16 Nov

It was my one year blogoversary on 14 November. I had remembered it, but just hadn’t had the time to post. We’ve had laptop issues (now resolved!) which made it really hard to get online. I’ve also got a 2 year old Chuggington & Peppa Pig addict for company who wants nothing more than to get his hands on my phone so he can watch videos (so much for not having a TV!) so blogging from the phone (or ipad for that matter) is nigh on impossible. Excuses, excuses…it was mainly because I usually feel so freakin’ guilty about how little I blog. I was feeling all angsty – I enjoy blogging, so why don’t I just blog? Why do I waste so much time procrastinating about the whole thing? Will I go to my blogging grave as the queen of the unfinished draft post?

Then one of my favourite bloggers – Dillytante – started an interesting thread on Mumsnet about why bloggers blog. Dilly’s questions seemed like a good way to mark my one year anniversary in blogging, while also letting me get some of my angst out of my head.

Why do you blog?

I blog for myself. I started this blog when I was pregnant with my daughter and was staring down the barrel of a year long maternity leave with a 2 year old and baby (and even then I knew we’d probably move to the US and I’d be staying at home for the foreseeable future). I wanted something for me and a blog seemed like a good idea (less work than a pet! But seriously, I wanted something to provide an outlet for myself so I didn’t just drown in family stuff). I love the environment and try to live mindfully and sustainably and I want to foster these values in my family. Hence my theme, although not a great deal of thought went into it! In reality, over the past year, I’ve found it’s more personal. Blogging helps me to hear myself.

What do you get from it?

I get great satisfaction from it. More than I expected actually. It’s great to think about words in a non-pressured way. Very enjoyable. I also get guilt – why don’t I blog more? How can I blog more without neglecting my “real” life? Will I ever finish all the drafted posts I have?? – but I’m a lapsed Irish Catholic, so a bit of guilt never did me any harm.

Is it trivial and is that ok sometimes?

It is mostly trivial and that is just fine. I’m not about to halt climate change or bring world peace. I’m also not interested in a book deal or anything like that. I’m just happy to blog for myself and hope that anyone who stumbles across this blog likes it. I do like to highlight things that matter to me when I can but that’s because it’s MY blog so I can blog about whatever I fancy…But really even the “trivial” stuff is important to me and that’s enough for me.

Why should people be interested in what you write?

People can be interested or not. I don’t really have a reason as to why they should or shouldn’t!

Do you care if they are not?

I really don’t. I know that everyone says that and that we’re supposed to all be secretly obsessed with our stats but I really don’t mind who reads or who doesn’t. I do like to see what countries people visit from – so interesting! And I like to see what search terms bring people here – it’s fascinating to see what people search for! But most of all I love comments. I love love love comments.

If you blog just for you why do it publicly?

Well, it’s public but it’s not like I’m forcing anyone to visit or read. It’s just such an easy way to write. I can blog from anywhere with an internet connection (as someone who loses notebooks this great – much easier than paper and pen!). Plus I like the sense of community blogging brings. I like reading other blogs and like when they visit me (see above about my love of comments!). Hopping around blogs is so much fun. It’s actually the thing I miss most about working in an office…all that glorious blog hopping I could do while appearing to “work” [sigh].

What value do you think you are adding to the world by blogging?

This is an interesting one. I’m a bit of a history buff, so I could argue that I’m contributing to the social history of our time. Which is particularly important when you think of the lack of female voices from most eras of history and how blogs provide some balance to sexist mainstream media (women do not all care about having a beach bod or whatever). This would be a good point to sidetrack into why I think most of the criticism of mummy/mommy bloggers (see, I’m going native here in the US! I’m slowly starting to be all diaper this and stroller that) is all part of the misogyny running through Western culture. But really I don’t think about it in terms of value. I like blogging so I blog and anyone who cares can read (or ignore or think it’s rubbish…).

Do you feel defensive about blogging?

This is an even more interesting one. I guess I do sometimes. Well, not so much defensive as guarded. I have this thing where I don’t want people I know in real life to read my blog in case they think it’s terrible and judge me accordingly. Plus I don’t want random people to know about it (work colleagues and the like). I don’t want my name to turn up on Google as a blogger for privacy reasons. Plus I don’t want my kids to be too exposed in it as I’m the guardian of their privacy and don’t want to invade it when they’re too young to consent. So I keep schtum about it to most people. But I’m happy to discuss blogging with anyone who’s critical of it. It’s the sense of community and inspiration that I usually talk up. And [sweeping generalisation alert] I find that people who hate blogs have usually never read any actual blogs (I don’t count newspaper blogs as proper blogs btw). So I can remain straight-faced while discussing with them while mentally filing them under “speaking out of their arse”.

 

10 Responses to “Why do I blog?”

  1. happyflowerwordzoo002 November 17, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    So agree that blogs have potential to add to social history, leave artefacts of this time/place and this phenomena of ‘blogging’ in cyberspace. I imagine there will be some interesting research in a century or so to examine what blogs are/were. Yah I get the ‘defensiveness’ but I started blogging with clear boundaries that I would limit to the extreme personal stuff, especially if a family member/friend did not have input. So my blog isn’t a personal type journal. Enjoyed this post and I’m feeling I should use the questions and do some self-reflection. Thanks for post.

  2. lowimpactmama November 17, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Thanks for your comment! I think the social historical record is an interesting part of blogging. I also really life your blog so am glad you’ve wandered over to mine and introduced yourself :).

  3. Madeleine November 19, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Aah, we have things in common- I am Irish, brought up Catholic and now living in North America (Toronto for me) with a son and a daughter.

    • lowimpactmama November 19, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      When I stopped by your blog I saw that you’re off to the auld sod for Christmas and I’m jealous! We’ve just moved to the States a couple of months ago (we were in London for years but I’m married to an American so decided to move to be closer to family). No trips back to Ireland until next summer…I’ve not been in Toronto in years but it’s a great city.

  4. Jennifer November 23, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    Great answers! I particularly like the observation about contributing to social history, I suppose in a way that’s also at the root of what I write. I’d love to look at blogs written throughout history (or a blog that my Mum had written when I was small!)

    • lowimpactmama November 23, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      Oh I’d love to know what my mum thought when me and my siblings were small! It would be so funny to read!

  5. Jade November 23, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Our answers to these questions are very similar :) I’m also glad you don’t have a television either. I bet you get the glazed look when you tell people there’s no TV in your house. I love that look. It was so interesting to read your answers to these questions. I also prefer real life people not reading my blog, I’d hate to have a conversation with someone in real life about something I’ve written, almost embarrassed that they read it at all, I guess!

    • lowimpactmama November 23, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Isn’t it funny about the embarrassment of real life people reading our blogs! Having no telly is actually quite liberating – though I’ve found some family & friends get quite defensive when I say we don’t have one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why do you blog? A blog hop! « Dilly Tante - November 21, 2012

    [...] it. At first I just read people’s responses without really thinking about my own. Posts at Low Impact Parenting, Pressies by Pebbles and MumToTeens made me realise that it is not all about the value that the [...]

  2. Why Do I Blog – a blog hop! « Low Impact Parenting - November 21, 2012

    [...] posted recently about why I blog. It was inspired by fellow blogger Dillytante. She’s now started a blog hop about it – [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

